North America Continent Countries Fact Details

North America Continent

• After Asia and Africa, it is the third largest continent in the world, North America continent. Its area is about 16.3% of the world’s area and it resides around 9% of the world’s population.
North America is spread across the northwest to Alaska, northeast to Labrador, and south to Panama. To its north is the North Dip Ocean and to the northeast is Greenland, which is the largest island in the world.

Greenland is under Denmark. To the south, North America continent extends as a narrow strip of land, also known as Latin America. This strip connects North America and South America. The West Indies is also a part of this continent.

Spanish sailor Christopher Columbus arrived in North America in 1492. The continent is named after the Italian sailor Vespucci Emerigo. It is the most developed and prosperous continent in the world.

• The shape of this continent is triangular. The base is in the north and the top is in the south. It lies between 7 to 83 ° north latitude and 20 ° to 170 ° western longitude. The 1000 western longitude line roughly passes through it.
To its north lies the Arctic Ocean, the Pacific Ocean to the west, and the Atlantic Ocean to the east.

This Panama site to the south is connected to the South American continent by treaty. It is located entirely in the northern hemisphere, separated from the continent of Asia by the Baring Water Treaty.

North america continent countries

• North America continent includes the United States, Canada, Mexico, Cuba, Panama, Costa Rica etc.
• Maize, wheat and barley are the major food crops of North America. Cotton, soybean are the other major crops.
The world’s HALF maize is grown in North America alone. The native place of the maize plant is southern Mexico. The USA is the largest producer of corn.

Mecca has a world-famous market in St. Louis, USA. Wheat is produced in the prairie plains of Canada and America. The USA is the third largest producer of wheat.

• New York is the largest city in the United States. The city is famous for its skyscrapers. Los Angeles is the second largest city in the United States.
Washington DC is the capital here.

North America Continent Countries Fact

• National Day of USA is 4th of July. It gained independence from British rule on 4 July 1776.
• America’s 50th state is the Hawaiian Islands located in the Pacific Ocean.
• The world’s leading cotton fabric market is in New York.
• New York City is the world’s largest port.
• Philadelphia is famous for its historic buildings located on the banks of the Daleware River.
The document of American independence was signed in 1776 in the same city.
• The American Museum of Natural History is the largest museum in the world.

Canada: Canada is the second largest country in the world after Russia in terms of area. Alaska (US) and Greenland (Yenmark) are not included.
It extends from the Atlantic Ocean in the east to the Pacific Ocean in the west. It has the Arctic Sea to the north and the United States to the south.

• The prairie plain of Canada is famous for its wheat yield.
– Tundra, taiga and prairie are the main vegetation boxes of Canada.

• Canada receives one-third of the total production of newsprint in the world. Canadian news paper ranks first in Canadian production.
• Toronto is the largest city in Canada. Other major cities are Montreal and Vancouver. Ottawa is the capital here.
• USA’s most famous hot water source – Ushnot (Geyser) is Old Faithful.
+ Yellowstone National Park and Yosenite National Park are located in the United States.

• USA is the third largest in the world after Russia and Canada in terms of area and third largest country in the world after China and India in terms of population. It has 50 states.
Rio Grande River forms the border of Mexico and USA.
• The Tennessee River Valley is located in the southeastern part of the United States.

Denavar (capital of Colorado) is called ‘Mile High City” (a city one mile above sea level). It is also called America as the Western Capital.

New York, known as ‘Big Apple’, is called the financial and cultural capital of the country.

• After Tokyo, Mexico City is the second-largest metropolis in the world.
Panama Canal: Located in the Central American country of Panama, 5 Great lakes of North America,this canal connects the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean.

5 Great lakes of North America

1.Lake Erie 2.Lake Huron 3.Lake Michigan 4.Lake Ontario 5.Lake Superior

Leave a Comment